SMPTE Elects Officers and Governors for 2017 and 2018

Matthew Goldman of Ericsson to Serve as Society's New President

The Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers (SMPTE) announced that the Membership has elected new officers and governors for the 2017-2018 term. Matthew Goldman, senior vice president of technology, TV and media at Ericsson, will take office as the new SMPTE president on Jan. 1, 2017.

Goldman, an SMPTE Fellow who has previously held SMPTE board roles including executive vice president, finance vice president, and Eastern Region Governor, will serve a two-year term as SMPTE president. He succeeds outgoing President Robert Seidel, vice president of engineering and advanced technology at CBS, who will continue to serve on the SMPTE Board of Governors as the Society's past president.

Other incoming SMPTE officers elected for the two-year 2017-2018 term include Patrick Griffis, vice president of technology at Dolby Laboratories and SMPTE education vice president, who will serve as executive vice president; Richard Welsh, CEO of Sundog Media Toolkit and a former SMPTE Governor, who has been newly elected by the membership to serve as education vice president; and Peter Wharton, vice president of technology and business development at BroadStream Solutions Inc., who will continue to serve as secretary/treasurer.Ten Governors, two of which are incumbents, were elected to serve in SMPTE Regions around the world.

Newly elected officers and governors will be introduced to the SMPTE membership at the Society's Annual General Membership Meeting, which takes place in Salon One of the Ray Dolby Ballroom at the Hollywood and Highland Center in Los Angeles, on Tuesday, Oct. 25 at 5:30 p.m., in conjunction with the SMPTE 2016 Annual Technical Conference & Exhibition (SMPTE 2016).

The SMPTE 2016 Welcome Reception will immediately follow in the Ray Dolby Exhibit Hall. Both the Annual General Membership Meeting and Welcome Reception are open to all attendees of SMPTE 2016, including those with exhibits-only passes.